2019 GIO Wheelchair Rugby National Championship

About the 2019 GIO Wheelchair Rugby National Championship

The 2019 GIO Wheelchair Rugby National Championship is the premier wheelchair rugby event in Australia seeing teams from across the country compete in this fierce game. In 2019 athletes from New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia will take to the court for three (3) days of competition for the chance to be crowned National Champions for 2019.

For the full event recap, click here!

Event Details

Dates: Friday, 28 - Sunday, 30 June 2019

Location: Quaycentre, Sydney Olympic Park


  • NSW GIO Gladiators

  • Suncorp Queensland Tornadoes

  • Queensland Cyclones

  • Victoria Protect Thunder

  • AAMI South Australia Sharks

  • Vero New Zealand Wheel Blacks


Results Day 3.PNG
Final Ladder.PNG

Gold: Victoria Protect Thunder

Silver: Suncorp Queensland Tornadoes

Bronze: Queensland Cyclones

MVP: Andrew Edmonson (AAMI SA Sharks)

Best New Talent: Luke Matthews (Suncorp QLD Tornadoes)

Best in Class:

  • 0.5: Michael Ozanne (Suncorp QLD Tornadoes)

  • 1.0: Cody Everson (Vero NZL Wheel Blacks)

  • 1.5: Richard Voris (GIO NSW Gladiators)

  • 2.0: Andrew Edmonson (AAMI SA Sharks)

  • 2.5: Cameron Whittaker (QLD Cyclones)

  • 3.0: Cameron Leslie (Vero NZL Wheel Blacks)

  • 3.5: Chris Bond (Sucorp QLD Tornadoes)


If you missed the action, catch up here!


If you have any questions about the upcoming 2019 GIO Wheelchair Rugby National Championship email events@wheelchairrugby.com.au or phone +61 2 8736 1221.